New Balance Boston’s Rebecca Donaghue Wins Club Champs XC

SPOKANE – (December 13, 2008) – McMillan Elite and
Boulder Running Company / adidas easily took the respective men’s and
women’s titles Saturday at the USATF National Club Cross Country
at Plantes Ferry Recreation Park in Spokane, Wash.

Saturday’s races were held under windy and blustery
conditions, with a light dusting of snow that accumulated the night before.
Temperatures were in the high 20s with the wind chill making it feel at least 10
degrees colder for the 900 plus participants representing America’s top
post-collegiate club teams vying for top honors and bragging rights as the
nation’s top cross country team.

As the afternoon progressed, the wind picked up dramatically,
and the temperature dropped to the mid-teens by the conclusion of the Open men’s
10-kilometer race.

Two-time NCAA Division II cross country champion Scott
, representing Transports adidas Racing Team eased his way into the
lead in the Open men’s ten kilometer race, then held off a late challenge by
Andrew Carlson of McMillan Elite to win his first national championship
as a professional, clocking 30 minutes, 47 seconds to Carlson’s 30:49.

Bauhs, an Olympic Trials qualifier this year at 10,000
meters, and a member of this year’s World Cross Country Championships squad,
took the lead shortly after the mile mark, while hotly pursued by several
members of the winning McMillan Elite squad.

As the wind gusted up to speeds hovering around 30 miles per
hour at times during the race, Bauhs began to extend his command over the rest
of the field, except for Carlson, who hung on gamely to Bauhs through the final

“I ran in snow at the NCAA D-II meet a few weeks ago, but
this was worse. I wanted to get out reasonably hard, then take the lead and go
from there. I thought that I could hold off Andrew Carlson (on the final
stretch). I wasn’t completely confident with the conditions, but I felt that I
could hold him off at the end,” Bauhs said.

Carlson’s runner-up finish, combined with Brett
and Gilliat Gebray‘s 4-5 finish led McMillan Elite to their
first national title, as the Flagstaff-based squad scored 47 points, defeating
the Bowerman Athletic Club by 17 points. Four-time men’s team champions
Hansons-Brooks finished third with 107 points.

In what can be best described as a race of attrition,
Rebecca Donaghue survived the heavy winds and the early challenge of a
group of four runners, including runner-up Toni Salucci, Kara June, Alisha
and Jennifer Donovan to win the national title in 21:38. The
five women were the only ones to break 22 minutes for the 6-kilometer

After the race, Donaghue commented, “Truthfully, these were
the worst conditions I’ve ever run in. I can’t feel my face; I can’t feel my
fingers. The wind blew me over at about a mile and a half. I drafted off of
other people, as the wind was absolutely brutal. I ran in the NCAA Cross Country
Championships a few years ago where it was this cold, but never that windy. This
is real cross country weather.”

Despite Donaghue’s overall win, last year’s third place team
Boulder Running Company / adidas dominated the team competition with 69 points,
defeating the women of New Balance Boston by 31 points. Three-time team
champions Boston Athletic Association took third with 128 points.

In the day’s opening race, Carmen Ayala-Troncoso of
Austin, Texas, 49, representing Rogue Running, won yet another masters USA
title, after taking an early lead over former Team USA cross country team member
Liz Wilson of the Eastside Runners, extending the lead over the final

Wilson won the individual age group title in the 40-44
division and Ayala-Troncoso the 45-49. Other age group winners included
Regina Joyce (50-54); Suzanne Ray (55-59) and Patty Foltz

Team champions included Club Northwest (40-49) and the
Impala Racing Team (50-59).

Simon Gutierrez of Alamosa, Colo., 42, used a strong
surge on the final lap of the race to break away from masters men’s runner-up
Dan Franek of the Dirigo RC to win his first national cross country
title, running 33:50.

Gutierrez and 2006 champion Tracy Lokken were part of
the lead group that broke away early from a chase pack that included the Fluffy
Bunny TC trio of David Schumacher, last year’s national champion Peter
and Christian Cushing-Murray.

Other individual age group titles went to Magill (45-49);
Bob Winn (50-54); Mark Billett (55-59); Terry Delph
(60-64); Doug Goodhue (65-69); Thom Weddle (70-74) and Mel

Team titles were won by the Fluffy Bunny TC (40-49);
Club Northwest (50-59); Boulder Road Runners (60-69) and the
Snohomish TC (70+).

Clubs competed for a total prize purse of $24,000, with
$19,000 going to the top Open teams.

10th USATF National Club Cross Country

Spokane, WA, Saturday, December 13, 2008

MEN – 10K
1) Scott Bauhs (CA), 30:47
2) Andrew Carlson
(AZ), 30:49
3) Forest Braden (ID), 31:00

1) McMillan Elite, 47 points, $3500
Bowerman Athletic Club, 64, $2300
3) Hansons-Brooks Distance Project, 107,
4) Boulder Running Company / adidas, 136, $1200
5) ASICS Aggie
Running Club, 150, $1000

1) Rebecca Donaghue (PA), 21:38
2) Toni
Salucci (NC), 21:46
3) Kara June (CA), 21:51

1) Boulder Running Company / adidas, 69 points,
2) New Balance Boston, 100, $2300
3) Boston Athletic Association,
128, $1500
4) New York Athletic Club, 138, $1200
5) Run Ohio / Second Sole
Racing Team, 147, $1000

Full results and more at:

The following two tabs change content below.

Check Also

Taproom Tidbits after Pub Stop No. 2 – The BHZ 5K

A quick run around the taproom as the next malt & hops extravaganza is right …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner