Homegrown Sean Quigley Wins Mayor’s Cup


Homegrown Sean Quigley Wins Boston Mayor’s Cup

in Closest Race in Event’s 20-year history.


Kimaiyo victorious in Women’s Championship.


BOSTON ‰ÛÓ Sean Quigley,
24, originally from Braintree, Massachusetts, won in a lean over last year’s
champion Jacob Korir, of Kenya, to win the 20th Mayor’s Cup
Cross Country 8k Championship at Boston’s Franklin Park on Sunday in a
time of 23 minutes, 54 seconds.  Quigley, a graduate of LaSalle University in
Philadelphia and who now runs for Puma, returned to the course where he won the
MIAA Division II (state) championship in 2002 while attending Archbishop
Williams High School and beat a talented field of 144 finishers on a picture
perfect day (sunny, 60-degrees F).


Quigley and Korir ‰ÛÓ
along with Andrew Ledwith, Timothy Ritchie, Patrick Mellea ‰ÛÓ ran together
for four miles until the duo separated themselves from the other co-leaders on
the final loop and the course’s landmark Bear Cage Hill.  Quigley did not
lead during the race but timed his finish perfectly, outsprinting Korir.  A
close, but clear finish gave the local kid the victory, and he recorded the
same winning time as did Korir in 2008.  Korir finished one second behind as
runner-up (23:55), while Ledwith followed in third (23:57).


Quigley was an NCAA All-American
and placed ninth at the 2008 US Olympic Track & Field Team Trials at 10,000
meters, his professional debut.


Balance Boston was led by Roland Lavallee, scored 75
points, and won the men’s championship team competition.  The host
Boston Athletic Association was second (78 pts.) and Genesee Valley
Harriers was third (96 pts.)
among the 11-team field.


In the women’s
5-kilometer championship race, Irene Kimaiyo, a 26-year old native of Kenya who runs for the female winning club
Riadha, based in Maryland, outpaced Virginia’s Samia
Akbar. Kimaiyo’s time was 16:39, 13 seconds better than Akbar’s
16:52, who was fifth at the Mayor’s Cup last year.  Riadha ‰ÛÓ
victorious with 43 points ‰ÛÓ placed three runners among the top four, as
Delilah Dicrescenzo (17:05) was third and Serena Burla (17:16) was fourth.
There were 95 finishers and eight teams in the contest.  New Balance Boston (53 pts.) was the
runner-up team and the B.A.A. was third (53 pts.).


The Mayor’s Cup has
witnessed Olympians, world cross country team members and running legends
participate over its hill and dale since the first race in 1990.  During the
last 20 years, the event has grown from a single race which started on the
adjacent golf course to a full slate of six races ‰ÛÓ including an open,
experiential race and three youth races ‰ÛÓ on a track of dirt and grass
which is synonymous with cross country in the United States.  Similar to the
B.A.A.’s Boston Marathon
which began with a field size of 15 starters and 10 finishers in 1897, the
first Boston Mayor’s Cup two decades ago included only a few dozen
harriers.  Now, with the support of the same Boston Athletic Association and its partner
adidas, the Mayor’s Cup is the pre-eminent cross country racing
opportunity for clubs and teams on the East Coast.  Since that first year, the
race has been nurtured through its development by its single meet director,
Steve Vaitones, who was presented with a memento of special recognition of the
milestone by the B.A.A. following the day’s races. Vaitones is the
managing director of USA
Track & Field ‰ÛÓ New England.


Full results at NER Results


20th Annual Boston
Mayor’s Cup

Cross Country and Youth Races


Presented by the B.A.A. and

Directed by USA Track & Field ‰ÛÓ New

and Boston’s Centers for Youth and Families


Sunday, October 25, 2009; Franklin
Park, Boston



Boston Mayor’s Cup ‰ÛÓ
Men’s Championship 8k Results

Individual (144 finishers)


1.         Sean Quigley, Puma                  23:54    ($600
+ $300 for USA)

2.         Jacob Korir, Riadha                    23:55    ($300)

3.         Andrew Ledwith                         23:57    ($200)

4.         Timothy Ritchie                          24:02    NCAA

5.         Lucas Meyer, B.A.A.                  24:10    ($150
+ $200 for USA)

6.         Patrick Mellea                           24:19    ($100
+ $100 for USA))

7.         Ruben Sanca                             24:23

8.         Justin Lutz                                24:34

9.         Matthew Withrow                       24:40

10.        Roland Lavallee, New Balance Boston  24:41


Boston Mayor’s Cup – Men’s 8k

Team Results

1.         New Balance Boston                  75
pts.  ($500)

2.         Boston
Athletic Association        78 pts.  ($300)

3.         Genesee
Valley Harriers 96 pts.  ($100)

4.         New
York Athletic Club               98 pts.

5.         Manhattan
Track Club                102 pts.

6.         Syracuse
Chargers                    118 pts.

7.         GBTC                                       131

8.         Dartmouth
College                     202

9.         Central Mass Striders                 273 pts.

10.        Bellmore
Striders                       279 pts.

11.        Tufts
University                          298


Boston Mayor’s Cup – Women’s 5k

Individual Results (95 finishers)

1.         Irene Kimaiyo, Riadha                16:39    ($600)

2.         Samia Akbar, Reebok                16:52    ($300
+ $300 for USA)

3.         Delilah Dicrescenzo, Riadha       17:05    ($200
+ $200 for USA)

4.         Serena Burla, Riadha                 17:16    ($150
+ $100 for USA)

5.         Jenn Donovan, New Balance Boston    17:23    ($100)

6.         Katie Decamillo                         17:34

7.         Alissa McKaig, ZAP Fitness       17:48

8.         Kristin Anderson, Riadha            17:49

9.         Mallory Champa             17:53


Boston Mayor’s Cup – Women’s 5k

Team Results

1.         Riadha                                      43
points           ($500)

2.         New Balance Boston                  53
pts.              ($300)

3.         Boston
Athletic Association        53 pts.              ($100)

4.         Syracuse
Chargers                    98 pts.

5.         Greater Boston
Track Club          115 pts.

6.         Boston
College                          148

7.         Genesee
Valley Harriers 194 pts.

8.         Westchester
Track Club             218 pts.

Boston Mayor’s Cup – Franklin Park 5k Results (356 finishers)


1.         Antony Taylor                16:04

2.         Mike Hawk                    16:07

3.         Gabe Barr                     16:26

4.         Miles Richardson           16:29

5.         Sam Greenberg 16:44



1.         Samantha Chase           19:51

2.         Jenna Moen                   19:59

3.         Alyssa Brigham             20:01

4.         Caroline Melhado           20:40

5.         Katie Ellinger                 21:00



Boston Mayor’s Cup Youth Races (1.1

10-years old and under (88 finishers)


1.         David Principe, Jr.          6:40

2.         Joseph Weston              6:46

3.         Troy Sliney                    6:21



1.         Chloe Taylor                  6:32

2.         Audrey Betts                 7:33

3.         Maille Riley-McNary       7:34



Boston Mayor’s Cup Youth Races (1.1

11-12 years old (88 finishers)


1.         Isaiah Savage                6:42

2.         Todd Cushing                6:47

3. &

Check Also

Boston Marathon Expands Para Athletics Divisions, Increases Prize Purse (Athletes Quotes)

B.A.A. Announces Expanded Para Athletics Divisions & Enhanced Prize Money Awards for 2024 Events   Boston …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner