US Lineup and Prize $$ for World Indoors

Gold medalists lead U.S. contingent to World Indoors

INDIANAPOLIS – Led by strength in the hurdles and field
events and boasting six past World Indoor champions, Team USA fields a
strong roster of 53 athletes for the 2010 IAAF World Indoor Track &
Field championships, to be held March 12-14 in Doha, Qatar. Athletes
will compete for a total of nearly $2.5 million in prize money,
including $40,000 for individual champions.


Defending World Indoor gold medalists Christian Cantwell (SP), Bryan Clay (Hep) and Lolo Jones (60mH) are joined by two-time World Indoor 60m hurdle champion Terrence Trammell, 2004 World Indoor 3,000m champion Bernard Lagat and 2006 World Indoor triple jump champion Walter Davis. Outdoor World champions on the team include reigning women’s long jump champion Brittney Reese, also the current world leader and 2009 decathlon champion Trey Hardee and2005 400m hurdle champion Bershawn Jackson, who will be running the flat 400m. Three-time World Outdoor 200m champion  Allyson Felix will run on the women’s 4x400m relay and two-time World Outdoor 400m hurdles champion Kerron Clement is on the men’s 4x400m.


Prize money at the IAAF World Indoor Championships


Individual events:


First: $40,000  

Second: $20,000  

Third: $10,000 

Fourth: $8000  

Fifth: $6000  

Sixth: $4000


Relays (per team):


First: $40,000  

Second: $20,000  

Third: $10,000 

Fourth: $8000 

Fifth $6000  

Sixth: $4000


World record bonus: US $50,000 – for any athlete setting a new World record.


Team USA Roster, 2010 IAAF World Indoor Championships




60m: Ivory Williams (Liberty, Mo.), Michael Rodgers (Round Rock, Texas)

400m: Bershawn Jackson (Raleigh, N.C.), Jamaal Torrance (Raleigh, N.C.)

800m: Nick Symmonds (Eugene, Ore.), Duane Solomon (Los Angeles, Calif.)

1500m: Will Leer (Eugene, Ore.), Garrett Heath (Palo Alto, Calif.)

3000m: Bernard Lagat (Tucson, Ariz.), Galen Rupp (Portland, Ore.)

60mH: Terrence Trammell (Atlanta, Ga.), David Oliver (Kissimmee, Fla.)

Long jump: Jeff Henderson (North Little Rock, Ark.), Randall Flimmons (Atlanta, Ga.)

Triple jump: Brandon Roulhac (Tallahassee, Fla.), Walter Davis (Baton Rouge, La.)

High jump: Jesse Williams (Eugene, Ore.), Dusty Jonas (Lincoln, Neb.)

Pole vault: Tim Mack (Cleveland, Ohio), Derek Miles (Tea, S.D.)

Shot put: Christian Cantwell (Columbia, Mo.), Cory Martin (Bloomington, Ind.)

Heptathlon: Trey Hardee (Austin, Texas), Bryan Clay (Glendora, Calif.)

relay: Greg Nixon (Lubbock, Texas), Tavaris Tate (Starkville, Miss.),
Kerron Clement (Los Angeles, Calif.), LeJerald Betters (Waco, Texas)




60m: Carmelita Jeter (Los Angeles, Calif.), Miki Barber (Los Angeles, Calif.)

400m: Debbie Dunn (Raleigh, N.C.), DeeDee Trotter (Knoxville, Tenn.)

800m: Anna Pierce (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.), Alysia Johnson (Los Angeles, Calif.)

1500m: Erin Donohue (Haddon Heights, N.J.), Sarah Bowman (Knoxville, Tenn.)

3000m: Sara Hall (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.), Desiree Davila (Rochester Hills, Mich.)

60mH: Ginnie Powell (Los Angeles, Calif.), Lolo Jones (Baton Rouge, La.)

Long jump: Brittney Reese (Gulfport, Miss.), Brianna Glenn (Chula Vista, Calif.)

Triple jump: Erica McLain (Menlo Park, Calif.)

High jump: Chaunte Howard Lowe (Decatur, Ga.)

Shot put: Jillian Camarena (Tucson, Ariz.), Michelle Carter (Ovilla, Texas)

Heptathlon: Hyleas Fountain (Kettering, Ohio)

relay: Allyson Felix (Los Angeles, Calif.), Natasha Hastings (Columbia,
S.C.), Shareese Woods (Charlotte, N.C.), Jessica Cousins (Seneca, S.C.)


For more information on Team USA and the 2010 IAAF World Indoor Championships, visit

About USA Track & Field
Track & Field (USATF) is the National Governing Body for track and
field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States.
USATF encompasses the world’s oldest organized sports, some of the
most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the #1 high school and
junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult
runners in the United States.
For more information on USATF, visit

Check Also

Boston Marathon Expands Para Athletics Divisions, Increases Prize Purse (Athletes Quotes)

B.A.A. Announces Expanded Para Athletics Divisions & Enhanced Prize Money Awards for 2024 Events   Boston …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner