Post Boston Marathon Numbers & Notebook



Men’s winner Robert Kiprono
Cheruiyot from Kenya shattered the course record by
82 seconds with his time of 2:05:52. The record of 2:07:14 was previously held
by Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot (no relation) since 2006.


Teyba Erkesso of Ethiopia held off a late surge by Tatyana
Pushkareva of Russia to win by three seconds in
2:26:11. Over the past three years, the women’s race has been decided by a
combined six seconds.


South African Ernst Van Dyk now
holds the most wins of any Boston Marathon competitor of all time with his ninth
title in the Men’s Push Rim Wheelchair Division. Winning in 1:26:53, he held off
countryman Krige Schabort by three seconds in the second-closest finish in Men’s
Push Rim Wheelchair Division history.


Wakako Tsuchida of
Japan returned to the winners’ circle
for the fourth consecutive year with an impressive time of 1:43:32. She won the
Women’s Push Rim Wheelchair Division race by 3:36.


The 2010 Boston Marathon had 26,790
entrants, 23,176 starters, and 22,678 finishers.


Sponsored by John Hancock Financial,
$806,000 in prize money was earned by the winners. Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot
received an additional $25,000 for breaking the course record.


The 24 Boston Marathon Official
Charities, through runners in the 114th Boston Marathon, combined to
raise more than $10.2 million dollars. Since 1989, more than $105.9 million has
been raised.


Neil Weygandt, 63, completed his 44th
consecutive Boston Marathon. The
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania resident ran the course in


a fierce sandstorm that postponed the event by a day,

annual running of the Boston Marathon at Contingency Operating Base Adder,
Iraq, took place. Four hundred
military and civilian runners in Iraq started the race at 4:00 a.m. to
beat the desert heat. Spc. Janelle A. Drennan won the women’s race in 3:40:09,
and Sgt. Derek Miller won the men’s side in 3:01:00


American men and 12 American women achieved qualifying performances for the 2012
Olympic Team Trials ‰ÛÓ Men’s and Women’s Marathon by running under 2:19:00 and 2:46:00


Seventeen visually-impaired
participants started the Boston Marathon, and all 17 finished, led by Adrian
Broca of California who ran the course in


Past Champions Gelindo Bordin
(1990), Lisa Rainsberger (1985), and Jacqueline Gareau (1980) completed the
course on the anniversaries of their victories in 3:21:27, 4:04:00, and 3:44:17,


The 115th Boston Marathon
will be held on Monday, April 18, 2010, and registration is expected to begin in
September. Details will be posted on



in 1887, the Boston Athletic Association is a non-profit
organization with a mission of managing athletic events and promoting a healthy
lifestyle through sports, especially running. The B.A.A.’s Boston Marathon is the
world’s oldest annual marathon, and the organization manages other local events
and supports comprehensive charity, youth, and year-round running programs.
Since 1986, the principal sponsor of the Boston
Marathon has been John Hancock Financial.


Check Also

Earth Shaking Alteration to Pub Series Standings Following 30th Corrib Pub 5K

Congrats to all Publicans who labored up the killer hill on the backside of Billings …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner