Boston-bound Davila Sets Midnight Run 4M (NY) Record

More than 4,700 “run in” the New Year at the 32nd edition in Central Park

YORK – (December 31, 2010) – The Christmas blizzard of 2010
didn’t blanket the enthusiasm of 4,759 revelers when fireworks
announced the start of both 2011 and the 32nd Emerald Nuts Midnight Run.
At the stroke of 2011, the runners set off on a lighthearted
four-mile tour of the park, cheered on by crowds of celebrants lining
the course, and made Central Park a worthy rival to Times
Square’s excitement and fun. Confetti was thrown, noisemakers
were honked and thousands of hands were high-fived as the
running pageant threaded through the snow banks, enjoyed the
faux-Champagne aid station at two miles and flooded down the
West Side, while the fireworks boomed and flashed for 17 minutes.

At the front, a field of professional runners made the event a high-quality race, and Stephen Furst,
25, of Raleigh, NC, lived up to his surname by winning in a
course record of 18 minutes, 11 seconds – and needed every
second of it to hold off David Jankowski of Blowing Rock, NC and Bobby Curtis of Ardmore, PA, who finished second and third, respectively, both timed in 18:12.

For the top women, Desiree Davila,
27, of Rochester Hills, MI, America’s fastest marathoner of
2010, also set a course record, running 20:51 to defeat
Canadian Olympian and former course record holder Carmen Douma-Hussar of Ardmore, PA, who ran 20:55, while Allison Kieffer of Tempe, AZ was third (21:37).

Also to kick-off the New Year, there was the Nuttiest Exercising Experience contest with a chance to win a $200 gift basket of Emerald Nuts snack and gear.

32nd Emerald Nuts Midnight Run 4 Mile
New York, NY, Friday, December 31, 2010

1) Stephen Furst (NC), 18:11*, $700
2) David Jankowski (NC), 18:12, $400
3) Bobby Curtis (PA), 18:12, $300
4) Sean Quigley (PA), 18:16
5) Colin Leak (MI), 18:18
*course record (previous record, 18:12, Andrew Carlson (MN), 2007)

1) Desiree Davila (MI), 20:51*, $700
2) Carmen Douma-Hussar (CAN), 20:55, $400
3) Allison Kieffer (AZ), 21:37, $300
4) Frances Koons (PA), 21:38
5) Kristen Nicolini (MN), 22:01
*course record (previous record, 20:54, Carmen Douma-Hussar (CAN), 2007)

For more race information including photos and video, go to:

Check Also

Boston Marathon Expands Para Athletics Divisions, Increases Prize Purse (Athletes Quotes)

B.A.A. Announces Expanded Para Athletics Divisions & Enhanced Prize Money Awards for 2024 Events   Boston …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner