Shalane Flanagan’s father inducted into CO Hall of Fame

DENVER – (April 5, 2011) – The Colorado Running Hall of Fame
will hold its 5th annual induction ceremony for the 2011 class
on Tuesday, April 19 at the Denver Athletic Club, and the 2011 inductee
class is:


* Steve Flanagan
is a U.S. World Cross Country Champion participant and marathon
runner. In the 1970s, he ran for the Frank Shorter Racing Team
and was a cross-country specialist for the Colorado Track
Club. He is also the father of America’s top female distance runner,
Shalane Flanagan, who was a bronze medalist at the 2008 Beijing


* Libbie Hickman
was named top female road racer in 1991, 1998 and 2000 by
Runner’s World magazine. The Colorado State grad ran the 10,000
meters at the 2000 Sydney Olympics and was the first American
woman to win the Bolder Boulder 10K in 14 years in 1997. From Fort
Collins, Hickman has largely retired from the sport in favor of
chasing her two young children.


* Parthenia Jones,
affectionately known as “Potts”, is an extraordinary
volunteer. She is an Aurora police officer who has dedicated
countless hours over the past 30 years to the sport of running,
leading the Potts Trotters, a non-profit running and walking club that
promotes health and fitness by sponsoring and participating in
running events ranging from 5K runs to ultra-marathons. She was
a recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian
Award in 2005.


* John Meyer is a
committed long-distance athlete and award-winning sports
journalist, writing a running and endurance sports column for
The Denver Post. In 2007, he won the Jesse Abramson Award for
excellence in track and field journalism, awarded by the Track and Field
Writers of America. He has run 13 marathons so far.


* Bette Poppers
was one of the first female long distance athletes. She got a
late start in the running game, starting her running career at
34-years-old (and seven months pregnant), and became one of the
nation’s top Masters runners in the 1980s. She went on to qualify
for the Olympic Marathon Trials twice after turning 40.


“The Colorado Running Hall of Fame honors an array of very special people,” said Creigh Kelley,
Race Director of the Kaiser Permanente Colfax Marathon. “The
inductees are chosen for their contribution to the sport and
our state.”


The event features keynote speeches from Denver Mayor Bill Vidal, Lakewood Mayor Bob Murphy and Aurora Mayor Ed Tauer. This event is open to the public, with a limited number of tickets available for purchase at $25 per person.

To learn more about the Colorado Running Hall of Fame or to purchase tickets to the induction ceremony, visit: 


About the Colorado Running Hall of Fame
Colorado has one of the highest concentrations of world and U.S. record
holders and Olympic and World Championship medal winners. The
Colfax Marathon Partnership, Inc. Board of Directors
established the CRHF in 2007 to recognize Colorado residents
who have achieved national and international recognition on the
long-distance running stage.


In 2010 the High School Athlete Recognition Program
was introduced, awarding 7 high school distance runners with High
School Achievement Awards recognizing not only athletic
achievement but also community leadership and character.


Check Also

Boston Marathon Expands Para Athletics Divisions, Increases Prize Purse (Athletes Quotes)

B.A.A. Announces Expanded Para Athletics Divisions & Enhanced Prize Money Awards for 2024 Events   Boston …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner