Chris Solinsky Leads Amercans at Falmouth

Defending Champion Lucas Rotich, Alan Kiprono and 2010 Champion Wude
Ayalew Yimer Headline
Star-Studded New Balance Falmouth Road Race Field;
Wheelchair Division Defending Champion Krige Schabort  to Battle 8-time Champion Craig Blanchette

Women’s Masters Showdown Expected Between Past Champions De Reuck and


July 31, 2012,
Falmouth, MA
‰ÛÓ Falmouth, Massachusetts will be host to a who’s who of
distance running, past and present, with the celebration of the 40
running of the New Balance Falmouth Road Race. 
2011 champion Lucas Rotich is back to defend his title with the hottest
man on the circuit, Alan Kiprono, nipping at his heels.  While 2010 women’s champion, Wude Ayalew
Yimer is back to challenge the field, the best women’s battle may be in the
masters division between past champions Catherine Ndereba and Colleen De Reuck.
Wheelchair course record holder and defending champion, Krige Schabort returns
to Falmouth to race for his fourth title.

The New Balance Falmouth Road Race will take place on
Sunday, August 12, 2012, when 12,800 participants will line up on the newly
dedicated “Tommy Leonard Start Line” in front of The Captain Kidd in Woods
Hole, MA. Wheelchair participants will start at 9:40 a.m. and the elite field
will go off at 10:00 a.m.

Rotich, 22, from Kenya has a 26:43.98 time from the Brussels
Diamond League Meet last year as well as a second place finish at the TD Bank
Beach to Beacon race last year. On his heels will be the 2012 Dick’s Sporting
Goods Bolder Boulder champion, Alan Kiprono, 22, of Kenya with a personal best
of 27:42 for the 10K. Kiprono is on a hot streak with wins at Lilac Bloomsday
Run and The Bellin Run as well. This is his Falmouth debut. Ed Muge, 29, of
Kenya was third at Falmouth in 2011, and is a two-time TD Bank Beach to Beacon
champion. Muge will be a factor along with American Chris Solinsky, 27, the
former American 10,000 meters record holder with a time of 26:59.60. Tim
Nelson, 28, a fellow American, is also expected to be in the lead pack. He has
a 27:28.19 10,000 meter time and was a member of the 2009 World Championship team
in Berlin.

The women’s field is stacked behind 2010 champion, Yimer, 25,
who was also the 2011 Crescent City Classic champion. She’ll be chased by
Lineth Chepkirui, 25, of Kenya, who was second at the 2012 Peachtree 10K in
32:23. Margaret Wangari, 26, of Kenya, is making her Falmouth debut but was
second at the African Cross Country Championships earlier this year and third
in the 1500 meters at the African Championships.  This group will be closely followed by
Americans, Lindsey Scherf, 25, who was fourth at the Peachtree 10K in 33:22 and
Neely Spence, 22, of the United States who is making her Falmouth debut where
her father, Steve, finished second in 1988.

One of the most fierce battles on the course this year could
come between two former champions in the Masters Division. Colleen De Reuck,
48, was overall champion in both 1993 and 1997. She hasn’t shown much slowing down,
handily winning the Masters Division for several years at Falmouth, including
last year with a time of 39:12 for sixteenth overall. Catherine Ndereba is a
four-time overall champion who has just turned 40 this summer. She claimed the
top spot in 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2007. Catherine was third at Falmouth in 2011
with a time of 37:27. De Reuck and Ndereba are no strangers to competing
together having finished 1-2 twice at Falmouth; both times the edge going to
Ndereba.  However, if they spend too much
time on each other, Sheri Piers, 40, from Falmouth, Maine, could play the spoiler.
She was tenth over all at this year’s Boston Marathon as a master.

Defending champion, course record holder and 2012
Paralympian, Krige Schabort, 48, leads the men’s wheelchair field. Challengers
include eight-time champion Craig Blanchette, 44, who was second in 2011 and
four-time champion Tony Nogueira, 44, who finished third last year.  Two-time champion, Patrick Doak, 44, is also
back and ready to race.

With six-time winner Jessica Galli concentrating on the
Paralympic Games, the women’s race is wide open. Jill Moore, 19, from the
University of Illinois who has a 32:45 10K time will be mixing it up with the
2011 TD Bank Beach to Beacon winner Christina Kouros, 17, from Maine.

Past champions
who will return to Falmouth include: Bill
(1974, 1977, 1978), Frank
(1975, 1976), Craig Virgin
(1979), Rod Dixon (1980), Lucas Rotich (2011); Joan Samuelson (1976, 1978, 1981, 1982,
1983, 1985), Colleen De Reuck (1993,
1997), Catherine Ndereba (1996,
1998, 1999, 2007), Wude Ayalew
(2010); Craig Blanchette (1991,
1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2010), Patrick
(2006, 2007), Tony Nogueira
(2002, 2003, 2004, 2005), Krige Schabort
(2008, 2009, 2011) and Candace Cable
(1990, 1991, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999). Virgin and Cable will not be competing
but will be part of many activities during race weekend.

Course records: Men’s
Open: Gilbert Okari, Kenya, 2004 ‰ÛÓ 31:08; Women’s Open: Lornah Kiplagat, Kenya,
2000 ‰ÛÓ 35:02; Men’s Wheelchair: Krige Schabort, USA, 2008 ‰ÛÓ 23:35; Women’s
Wheelchair: Candace Cable, USA, 1991 ‰ÛÓ 28:20.

The 40th running of the New Balance Falmouth Road
Race is Sunday, August 12, 2012. For further information:

About Falmouth Road

The New Balance Falmouth Road Race was established in 1973 and has become one
of the premier running events of the summer season. Each year the race draws an
international field of Olympians, elite and recreational runners out to enjoy
the iconic 7-mile seaside course. The non-profit Falmouth Road Race
organization is committed to promoting health and fitness through community
programs and philanthropic giving.

Check Also

Earth Shaking Alteration to Pub Series Standings Following 30th Corrib Pub 5K

Congrats to all Publicans who labored up the killer hill on the backside of Billings …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner