Big Chill Adds Thrill to NER Pub Series Finale

Just signed off on the
Nov/Dec issue this afternoon (Tue., 10-20) so of course our immediate primo
priority is the Pub Series! (All Photos by Paul “Scooter Boy” Hammond)


It was a tad nippy for Paddy’s but NER Central ain’t
complaining, not with glove sales up 100% over last year. It was a bit brisk for the volunteers that
showed up at 5:00 am (so we heard, we arrived at 8:00 am).


The Border Street finish through West Newton’s industrial
zone isn’t exactly the Avenue des Champs-Élysées, but it was a familiar figure
who emerged in the maillot jeune to toast victory in 15:12. HFC’s TJ Unger, the reigning, defending and
now undisputed Pub Series XVIII champion hit the first mile in 5:05 so actually
sped up a tad on his way to malt & hops glory.


Resurgent HFC teammate Lee
in 15:17 turned back SRR’s Greg
(15:32) for a second straight race but nonetheless finished
7-points behind Pickle Power in the standings for the 2-3 positions.


After a year of trying, CSU’s Patrick Bugbee now joins the big boys in the top 5 courtesy of his
16:04 7th place showing. CSU teammate Kevin
copped 11th and the final Open $ spot. Given that ‰Û¢Pickle’ and
Delaney are Masters, this bumps up English bloke Macdara Nash, BAA coach Mike
and HFS’s “T-Vo” Tom Vossen
for the top-3 Masters slots.


Not even an emerging high school superstar in Waltham HS
track and lacrosse standout Taylor Pinzone was slowing down the Ginger Reiner express. Our new Pub
Queen finished one point short of perfect, winning this affair in 17:27 (5:49
pace) with Pinzone, 16, breaking her own 19-under record in 18:12 and Masters
juggernaught Holly Madden securing 3rd
in 18:33.


Behind Reiner and Madden, Team Fabulous ace Candice Gagnon, SRR’s Deb Downs and HFC’s Eileen Cakouris fill the top 5 Pub
Series spots. With Madden and Cakouris 40+, the top point-getter among Masters
now becomes Pub Series stalwart Andrea


There was little movement in the age divisions with Pub
Series winners including Liberty’s Victoria
(W50), Quincy’s Joanne Morris
(W60) and Jan Holmquist (W70) who
ran 21:36, thank-you.


CSU’s Terry McNatt
is top M50, HFC’s George Braun top
M60 and Joe Noonan the top M70.


Real good news this year: No ties! (Photo: Whirlaway’s Ken Warren and top M60 George Braun)


We’ll find out about Awards
Night at Doyle’s
(for award winners and all those who did 6 races) shortly,
usually the first week in Dec. before things get crazy. Mayor’s Cup XC at
Franklin Park is this Sunday so we’ll stop by Doyle’s afterward and check
availability (this usually takes 3-4 hours from past experience) and get out
the news on the NER website and in the e-newsletter.


Thanks for a great Series, stay warm and we’ll see you soon!



Check Also

Pub Series Attendance List After 2 of 7 Races

2024 Pub Series Line-Up Irish Clover Corrib BOF BHZ Liam’s Paddy’s Damien’s MARGE BELLISLE MA …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner