Fun Facts, Race Entrants, Historical Tidbits on 40th Foot Locker HS XC Championships

40th Annual

Foot Locker Cross Country Championship National Finals

This Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018, Balboa Park

2018 FootLocker XC-NorthEast Region
NY, NY November 24, 2018
Photo: Victah Sailer@PhotoRun


The top 80 high school distance runners (40 boys and 40 girls) from across the country will compete in the 40th Annual Foot Locker Cross Country Championships this Saturday, Dec. 8, at Balboa Park in San Diego, California. The 5,000-meter course has launched the professional careers of an impressive array of prestigious runners in years past, including Olympians Ryan Hall, Meb Keflezighi and Kara Goucher. The Foot Locker Cross Country Championships is comprised of four regional 5K races, Midwest (Kenosha, Wis.), Northeast (Bronx, N.Y.), South (Charlotte, N.C.), and West (Walnut, Calif.), where the top 10 boys and top 10 girls from each region’s seeded races qualified to compete in the National Finals.


Morley Field, Balboa Park


Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018

Girls – Introductions: 9:00 a.m. PST Race: 9:15 a.m. PST

Boys – Introductions: 9:45 a.m. PST Race: 10:00 a.m. PST


Watch live starting at 8:00 a.m. PST at


Media credentials will be issued to photographers and journalists on assignment at Morley Field at Balboa Park starting at 8:30 a.m. PST on Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018.


Kenny Fried, 202-468-8200,

Gabriella Citrin, 917-903-3614,

*Race photos and video highlights are available by request or online at

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram / #FLCCC #Finals

2018 Foot Locker Cross Country Champion National Finals Field  40 Boys and 40 Girls

Northeast Boys

SR – Lucas Aramburu, Brookline, MA, Brookline H.S.

SR -Connor Nisbet, Wilmington, DE, Wilmington Friends School

JR- Liam Murphy, Perrineville, NJ, Allentown H.S.

SR, Devin Hart, Point Pleasant, NJ, Point Pleasant Borough H.S.

JR, Patrick Anderson, Pittsburgh, PA, Mt. Lebanon H.S.

JR, Sam Lawler, Pittsford, NY, Pittsford Mendon H.S.

JR, Matthew Farrell, Glastonbury, CT, The Loomis Chaffee School

SR, Mustafe Dahir, Wallingford, CT, Choate Rosemary Hall

SR, Richard Sturtevat, Leyden, MA, Northfield Mount Hermon


SO, Sydney Masciarelli, Northbridge, MA, Marianapolis Preparatory School

JR, Marlee Starliper, Wellsville, PA, Northern H.S.

SR, Grace Connolly, Natick, MA, Natick H.S.

SR, Abby Loveys, Randolph, NJ, Randolph H.S.

SO, Kate Wiser, Southbury, CT, Pomperaug H.S.

JR, Mary Hennelly, Suffern, NY, Suffern H.S.

JR, Taryn Parks, Greencastle, PA, Greencastle-Antrim H.S.

SO, Sofie Matson, Falmouth, ME, Falmouth H.S.

SR, Sarah Roffman, Littleton, MA, Littleton H.S.

JR, Nicole Vanasse

Martinsville, NJ, The Pingry School

2018 NOTES:

By Class

Seniors  39 (14 girls/25 boys)

Juniors  30 (15/15)

Sophomores  8 (8/0)

Freshman  3 (3/0)

Graydon Morris was only the fourth ninth grade boy to qualify and joins Jorge Torres as the second male runner to qualify as ninth, 10th & 11th grader.

Jenna Hutchins, Riley Steward and Abby Vanderkool became the 78th, 79th and 80th female freshman respectively to qualify for the FLCCC National Finals.

By State

Alaska  1

Arkansas  1

California – 10

Colorado  2

Connecticut  3

Delaware – 1

Florida  2

Idaho  3

Illinois – 4

Indiana  1

Maine – 1

Massachusetts  5

Michigan  8

Minnesota  2

New Jersey  5

New Mexico – 1

New York  2

Ohio  1

Pennsylvania  3

South Carolina  2

Tennessee  5

Texas  9

Utah – 2

Virginia  1

Washington – 3

Wisconsin  2

FLCCC Freshmen Qualifiers Who Became Champions

1981 – Cathy Schiro (Dover, N.H.) 19th; Won in 1984 as Senior

1989 – Liz Mueller (Waterford, CT) 7th; Won in 1991 as Junior

1985  Kira Jorgensen (Vista, Calif.)  14th; Won in 1987 as Junior

1997 – Sara Bei (Santa Rosa, Calif.) 10th  Won in 2000 as Senior

1993 – Erin Davis (Saratoga Springs, Calif.) 1st

1995  Jorge Torres (Wheeling, IL) 13th; Won in 1998 as Senior

2005  Kathy Kruger (Franklin, Tenn.)  7th; Won in 2006 as Sophomore

2005  Jordan Hasay (Arroyo Grande, Calif.) – 1st; Won in 2008 as Senior

2013 – Weini Kelati (Leesburg, Va.)  25th; Won in 2015 as Junior

College Commitments for 2018 FLCCC Seniors

Alabama – Allison Wilson

Brigham Young  Zachary Ericson

Colorado  Emily Covert

Cornell  Sarah Roffman

Florida State  Ava Peeples

Furman  David Ahlmeyer

Harvard  Colin Baker

Michigan – Ericka Vanderlende

Mississippi  Cole Bullock

Northern Arizona  Drew Bosley

Notre Dame  Carter Cheeseman, Olivia Markezich and Jake Renfee

Oregon State – Gabrielle Peterson
Princeton  Lucas Aramburu, Camren Fischer, Abby Loveys, Connor Livingstone, Connor Nisbet

Stanford  Grace Connolly, Kristin Fahy and Devin Hart

Texas  Cruz Gomez

Wisconsin  David Vannucci

Yale – Richard Sturtevat

Cross Country / Track Runs in the Family

Foot Locker Cross Country Championships have welcomed runners with great family heritage, including at least 29 sets of brothers and/or sisters.

Adoette Vaughan

Mother, Glenys Quick, a teacher of film studies and journalism at Hockaday School for 22 years, won New Zealand Cross Country Championships and set a national record for the 800-meters in track.
Ran track at Texas Women s University in Den≠ton, Tex.
Won 1984 Nagoya Marathon and qualified for the 1984 New Zealand Olympic team (served as an alternate)
Placed 14th in the World Track and Field Champi≠onships
Finished 6th at Chicago Marathon from 1983-1985

Carter Cheeseman

Father, Ken Cheeseman, ran cross country and track at Virginia
Mother, Cathy Cheeseman, ran cross country and track at Tennessee at Chattanooga
Older sister, Allison Cheeseman, was a two-time TSSAA cross country champion and runs at Davidson
Younger sister, Claire, is a sophomore runner at Belmont

Drew Bosley

Father, Andy Bosley, was a two-time Division 1 All-American runner at Wisconsin-Madison
Mother, Laura Bosley, was also a runner at University Wisconsin at Parkside

Titus Winders

Father, Lance Winders, is Henry County HS cross country coach and ran at Murray State
Mother, Stephanie Winders, also ran at Murray State
Older brothers, Javan Winders and Titus Winders, run at Southern Indiana
Younger brother, Silas Winders, runs on Henry County HS team
Younger sister, Dinah Winders, runs on Henry County HS team

Jaden Theis

Older sister, Olivia Theis, was 2017 FLCCC Midwest Champion and 2017 FLCCC Nationals 3rd place finisher

Nicole Vanasse

Mother, Kelly Groteke, was a standout distance runner at Yale who ranks in the top ten among all-leaders in the 1,500 (6th), 3,000 (3rd) and 5,000 (7th)
Father, Gerry Vanasse, was a Team Adidas USA runner who placed 2nd at the 1984 Boston Marathon

Mary Hennelly

Brothers, Patrick and Michael Hennelly, both run for Manhattan College

Olivia Markezich

Twin sister, Andrea Markezich, will run for University of Washington in 2019

Check Also

Earth Shaking Alteration to Pub Series Standings Following 30th Corrib Pub 5K

Congrats to all Publicans who labored up the killer hill on the backside of Billings …

Leave a Reply

NE Runner